At a March 2009 Council Meeting, a resolution was passed agreeing to establish the Animal Welfare and Control Sub-Committee.

The primary role of this committee is to assess the by-laws and policies of other councils and in consultation with communities develop effective bylaws and policies for the Shire.

The Animal Welfare and Control Sub-Committee is comprised of six (6) elected members representing each East Arnhem Shire Ward.


Anindilyakwa Ward: Councillor Jabani Lalara
Gumurr Gattjirrk Ward: Councillor Lily Roy
Gumurr Marthakal Ward: Councillor Alfred Gondarra
Gumurr Miwatj Ward: Councillor Barayuwa Mununggurr
Gumurr Miyarrka Ward: Councillor Gawura Wanambi
Birr Rawarrang Ward: Councillor Rose Wurrguwurrgu