Ward overview

The Gumurr Miwatj Ward region comprises of the communities of Gunyangara (Ski Beach) and Yirrkala. The ward extends through Melville Bay to the eastern most part Arnhem Bay, and down through parts of the Gulf off Carpentaria.   

Surrounding areas and township of Nhulunbuy are Registered Mining or Special Purpose Leases; Local Government services in Nhulunbuy are delivered by Nhulunbuy Corporation Ltd.

Three (3) Elected Members are selected from the Gumurr Miwatj Ward for Council. Although the Ward region extends through homelands & outstations, East Arnhem Regional Council only delivers services in Gunyangara and Yirrkala.


In August 2017, Councillors Yananymul Mununggurr, Barayuwa Mununggurr & Banambi Wunungmurra were all re-elected to serve a third term on Council. In 2018 a By-Election was called to replace the positions recently vacated by Cr B Mununggurr and Cr Wunungmurra. This By-Election resulted the declaration of Djuwalpi 1 Marika and Yirrmal Marika as being duly elected to the two vacant positions of the Gumurr Miwatj Ward.

Nominations to stand as a candidate for this by-election were invited on 13 February 2019 and at close of nominations two nominations were received. As there were two vacancies and two nominations, Djuwalpi 1 Marika and Yirrmal Marika were automatically declared to the positions.

Cr D Marika was appointed unanimously by his peers as Deputy President at the Ordinary Council Meeting held on the 27 March 2019. Cr D Marika will hold this position until the 2021 NT Council Elections.