East Arnhem Regional Council President Steps Down

Banambi W_4745.jpg

Thank you

President Wunungmurra

After more than ten years at the helm of East Arnhem Regional Council (EARC), inaugural President Banambi Wunungmurra has announced he is stepping down from all Council duties.

Acting President Kaye Thurlow paid tribute to Mr Wunungmurra noting his significant contribution to not only the residents of the Miwatj Ward, of whom he has served loyally since Council’s inception in 2008, but the entire Region.

“It is with great sadness but much respect and admiration, that we announce President Wunungmurra’s resignation”, said Acting President Thurlow.

“Banambi has worked tirelessly for the Residents of East Arnhem Land, demanding our voices be heard and advocating for the delivery and access to services and funding essential to the ongoing growth and improved conditions for our community members.”

Elected in as Councillor during the NT Council Elections in 2008, and voted by as his peers to the position of President, EARC quickly became a recognised leader and progressive council within Northern Territory Local Government landscape, much of this attributed to the leadership from President Wunungmurra.

“From a Council perspective, he provided much vigour and enthusiasm to the corporate space, bringing staff together during times of change and challenge, and always with an infectious energy that was hard to ignore. He respected his staff and in return they gave him their unwavering support. I believe wholeheartedly that many leaders could learn from the actions of Banambi.”

“On behalf of Council, our 320 strong staff and our Region, I thank Banambi for his loyalty, leadership and ten strong years of dedicated service, and personally, acknowledge the support and friendship which he has extended unequivocally throughout our time serving together on Council.

“We wish Banambi and his family all the very best as he transitions to life after Council and trust he will stop by from time to time to check in on us - but not before taking a well deserved break from the public eye”, said A/President Thurlow.

President Wunungmurra’s tenure has seen through the amalgamation of the community councils to East Arnhem Shire Council, then transitioning to East Arnhem Regional Council, the design and implementation of the Northern Territory’s first stand alone Reconciliation Action Plan, the rebuild from the devastation of Cyclones Nathan and Lam in 2015, and the development of Council’s first long term, five year Corporate Plan.

President Wunungmurra’s resignation was effective immediately (10 December 2018), with Councillor Kaye Thurlow to continue as Acting President until Council meets to appoint President Wunungmurra’s successor. Details of the Miwatj Ward By-Election will be advised in due course. 

- ENDS - 

Download Release


A/Chief Executive Officer - Barry Bonthuys, 08 8986 8929

Public Relations Coordinator - Katherine Hollis, 0457 518 772