Milyakburra cleans up Tidy Towns Award

The Bickerton Island community of Milyakburra, has been announced the Northern Territory's Best Small Community at the 2012 Territory Tidy Towns Awards. 

The announcement was made at the annual Territory Tidy Towns Awards ceremony hosted by Keep Australia Beautiful NT and the NT Chief Minister Terry Mills in Darwin.  

The Milyakburra community is home to 135 permanent residents and is situated on the central eastern section Bickerton Island, in the Anindilyakwa Ward approximately 620kms east-south-east of Darwin, and 8 km east of the mainland, between Groote Eylandt and Blue Mud Bay, north of Numbulwar. 

Milyakburra Shire Services Manager, Gordon Walsh who accepted the Award on behalf of the community said the award was a testament to the organisations and people of Milyakburra working in collaboration for the overall ommunity wellbeing.

Jabani Lalara & Wilfred Wurramara also received Territory Tidy Towns Citizen Awards, which recognises extraordinary contributions to their communities by individuals.