East Arnhem well represented on Round Table

The East Arnhem Region will be well represented on the Chief Ministers Round Table of Young Territorians in 2013, with the announcement that East Arnhem Shire Council Sport & Recreation Officers, Kenisha BuranhalawuyGanambarr of Yirrkala & Sebastian Pascoe of Galiwin'ku as members for 2013.

Kenisha & Sebastian are part of the 15 member group which met for the first time this weekend, and was joined by the youngest elected member of the current Parliament, Member for Drysdale, Lia Finocchiaro.

Chief Minister, Terriy Mills said “With the Round Table now reporting directly to me, young Territorians have an opportunity to voice their opinions and have a real impact on government policy.”

“The new Round Table members will provide advice to government and help to develop youth policies, programs and services throughout the Territory.”

“Each member will be asked to consult with their peers on a number of important issues throughout 2013 and convey these messages to government.” 

“I look forward to working with the members throughout this year and I encourage all young people to contact the members to ensure they have their views heard.”

East Arnhem Shire Council President Banambi Wunungmurra said "On behalf of my fellow Council members, I would like to not only congratulate Kenisha and Sebastion, but also wish them the very best and offer them the support of EASC in 2013".

This has been the second year in a row that young leaders through the EASC Youth, Sport and Recreation Program have been recognised, following Young Achiever Awards finalist Alvin Marpinduwuy Gaykamangu and Russell Burns selection on the Round Table in 2012.