Nominations open for NT Training Awards

President Banambi Wunungmurra & Winner of 2012 ATSI Award Lisa Oosen

President Banambi Wunungmurra & Winner of 2012 ATSI Award Lisa Oosen

Nominations are now open for the 2013 NT Training Awards. The Awards recognise training excellence and achievements by Territory businesses, training organisations and trainers, apprentices, trainees and students. 

East Arnhem Shire Council has again signed up, for the forth year in a row as a Major Sponsor of the Awards - and category sponsor of the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year.

"Our sponsorship of the The Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander student of the Year is very important to our Council and our workforce", said Acting CEO Kerry Whiting.

"As one of the largest employers in Arnhem Land, East Arnhem Shire Council recognises the importance in providing lifelong career pathways for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the workforce.

"Now is a time for workplaces and Territory businesses with the same strong and culturally diverse workforce to recognise the commitment and value of strong Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander employees by nominating them for the awards" said Mr Whiting.

The awards will be presented on 7 September. Winners will receive cash prizes and have the opportunity to represent the NT at the Australian Training Awards in Perth in November.

Nominations close on the 1st May 2013. For further information on the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year category and all other NT Training Award categories, visit the awards website.