Council Renews NT Training Awards Sponsorship in 2014

East Arnhem Shire Council is pleased to announce the renewal of sponsorship of the Northern Territory Training Awards in 2014.

The NT Training Awards are the Department of Business annual premier event recognising training excellence and achievements by Territory businesses, training organisations, apprentices, trainees, trainers and students, with individual and organisational awards. The Council will return as Gold Sponsors in 2014.

In 2013, East Arnhem Shire Council were proud sponsors of the 'Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year' Award which was won by Sandra Allwright. Sandra undertook a Certificate IV in Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Primary Health Care (Practice) through the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education and was employed by the Wurli-Wurlinjang Health Service. 

Sandra entered Indigenous health practitioner training as an adult student after deciding on a new career and training path through her passion for improving the health and wellbeing of Indigenous Territorians.   

East Arnhem Shire Council President Banambi Wunungmurra presented Sandra with her award on the night.

Runner up was Roslyn Malngumba from NT Christian Schools - Mapuru Christian School who undertook a Certificate IV in Education Support. Congratulations to both ladies on your achievements.

The Awards are a fantastic way to recognise the excellence and achievements in gaining the highest standards of knowledge and skills, in contributing to high standards of training, and for personal achievement in the vocational education and training (VET) sector.