Results from the recent 2017 NT Council Elections have now been declared with East Arnhem Regional Council welcoming seven (7) returning and seven (7) new Councillors to the Local Governing organisation. 

It is with great excitement Council can also announce the appointment of Council’s President Mr Banambi Wunungmurra and Deputy President Kaye Thurlow.

With election results declared on Monday 4 August 2017, East Arnhem Regional Council (EARC) convened their inaugural meeting of the newly formed Council on Monday 11 September in the East Arnhem Regional Council HQ, Council Chambers in Nhulunbuy.

The Council President and Deputy President were selected via a vote from our newly elected Councillors, with the President appointed for a four (4) term and the Deputy President two [2] years after which a new Deputy President will be appointed by the Council.

President Wunungmurra is now sitting his third term as both Councillor and President, bringing stability, knowledge and momentum to the Region.

“I’m very honoured to be in a position to represent my people - both as Councillor to the Miwatj Ward and as President, and acknowledge the trust and confidence that comes with the vote of my peers” said President Wunungmurra.

“The election of this strong group of Councillors will ensure we continue to build on the great work done over the past 8 years as we strive to consistently advance and strengthen the East Arnhem Region. Together with the fantastic Council staff I look forward to improving and growing our service delivery to residents, and more importantly, oversee the formation and implementation of Council’s inaugural five year Corporate Plan” President Wunungmurra continued. 

Council CEO Mr John Japp congratulated the new and returning Councillors on their appointment. “East Arnhem residents have elected an extremely experienced and strong Council to act as their voice. Our Management Team and staff look forward to working with the newly elected members and I am confident of sustaining and building on our partnership towards the betterment of our constituents.”

Download Councillor listing

Download pdf

- ENDS - 


Chief Executive Officer - John Japp, 08 8986 8986
Public Relations Coordinator - Katherine Hollis, 0457 518 772