Gumurr Miwatj Ward Councillors declared

The NT Electoral Commission today declared that Djuwalpi 1 Marika and Yirrmal Marika have been duly elected to the two vacant positions of Ordinary Council Member for the East Arnhem Regional Council Gumurr Miwatj Ward.

Nominations to stand as a candidate for this by-election were invited on 13 February 2019 and at close of nominations 12 noon, today (22 February 2019) two nominations were received. As there were two vacancies and two nominations, Djuwalpi 1 Marika and Yirrmal Marika were automatically declared to the positions.

Residents are advised that the election day set for Friday 8 March 2019 is therefore not required.

East Arnhem Regional Council welcomes both Cr D Marika and Cr Y Marika and looks forward to their involvement in the March Ordinary Council Meeting to be held in Gunyangara.

Further information and comments from the newly appointed Councillors will be available on completion of the March Ordinary Council Meeting.