By Election called for Gumurr Miwatj Ward

The Northern Territory Electoral Commission has released the timetable for the upcoming Gumurr Miwatj Ward By Election , required to fill the vacancies left by Cr Wunungmurra and Cr B Mununggurr. This Ward takes in residents of Yirrkala, Gunyangara and Wallaby Beach areas as well as outlaying homelands and outstations within the Local Governing Area.

Under the advice provided to Council, the following dates will be applied to the voting process:


Nominations open

Electoral Roll closes

Nominations close

Declaration of nominations, draw for position on ballot papers

Postal vote mail-out commences

Early voting commences

Mobile voting commences

Overseas postal voting despatches cease

All postal voting despatches cease

Early voting ceases

Election Day

Election Day voting period
Mobile voting ceases (5pm)

Counting of votes commences

Declaration of the election result

Wednesday 13 February

Wednesday 20 February 5:00 pm

Friday 22 February 12:00 noon

Friday 22 February 1:00 pm

Monday 25 February 9:00 am

Monday 25 February 8:00 am

Monday 4 March 9:00 am

Tuesday 5 March 6:00 pm

Wednesday 6 March 6:00 pm

Thursday 7 March 5:00 pm

Friday 8

8:00 am - 5pm

Monday 11 March

Thursday 14 March 2:00 pm

Further information will be provided to residents of the Gumurr Miwatj Ward. Individuals interested in nominating for by election are encouraged to contact the Northern Territory Electoral Commission for more information on 1800 698 683.