Councillor Kaye Thurlow was appointed to the position of Council President during the Ordinary Council Meeting on 27 March 2019 in Gunyangara.

President Thurlow was elected as a Councillor for the Gumurr Marthakal Ward at the inaugural NT Shire Council elections in 2008, and replaces the recently retired President Banambi Wunungmurra. President Thurlow is currently serving a third term as a Councillor for Gumurr Marthakal Ward and first term as President of East Arnhem Regional Council, a position she has been acting in since the 10 December 2018.

President Thurlow is a retired school Principal with extensive teaching experience across the NT, who has called East Arnhem Land home for 40 years. Kaye’s community interests, spanning 50 years, lie in supporting cross-cultural links between the people of Elcho Island and the broader East Arnhem Region. Kaye provides on-going voluntary assistance to individuals and families at Galiwin’ku, covering financial and business matters, as well as assisting older Yolngu women with transport to hunting, especially those connected with Dharrwar Homelands.


Contact President Kaye Thurlow

Phone: 08 8986 8914
Post: PO Box 1060, Nhulunbuy NT 0881