Ward overview

The Gumurr Marthakal Ward region comprises of the community of Galiwin'ku, extending up through Elcho Island, through the Wessel Islands, across to the English Companys Islands and northern most point of Point Napier.

Three (3) Elected Members are selected from the Gumurr Marthakal Ward for Council. Although the Ward region extends through homelands & outstations, East Arnhem Regional Council only delivers services in the Territory Growth Town of Galiwin'ku.


In March 2012, Councillor Alfred Gondarra, Councillor Kaye Thurlow & Deputy President Mavis Daŋanbarr, were elected to Council.